Bowling Coaching Staff
Bill Straub
Head Coach
Coach Info:
Position: Head Coach
City/State: Lincoln, NE
Phone: 402-472-0404

Honors and Awards

  • Two National Tenpin Coach of the Year Awards (2005, 2013)
  • Five NCAA Team Championships (2004, 2005, 2009, 2013, 2015)
  • Five IBC Women's National Championships(1991, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001)
  • Two IBC Men's National Championships (1990, 1996)
  • Seven NTCA Collegiate Bowlers of the Year 
  • 28 Bowlers have made a combined 61 All-America teams
  • 12 women's bowlers have been selected to national teams

Bill Straub has been the head coach for the Nebraska women’s bowling team since 1996. However, his dedication and commitment to Nebraska bowling runs much deeper, as he coached both the men’s and women’s teams for over 20 years dating back to when both programs were club sports.

Under his tenure, the Husker men’s and women’s teams have combined for 12 national titles in the past 25 years. The Nebraska women’s bowling program won national championships in 1991, 1995, 1997, 1999, 2001, 2004, 2005, 2009, 2013 and 2015, while the men’s program captured national titles in 1990 and 1996.

The 2003-04 season was a huge success for Straub and his Huskers, as they competed at the NCAA level for the first time in school history. Nebraska capped the season by winning the first-ever NCAA championship, rallying through the loser’s bracket to defeat Central Missouri State in the nationally televised final. Shannon Pluhowsky was named the MVP of the NCAA Championships. Straub then guided the Huskers to a second NCAA title in 2005, while Amanda Burgoyne was named the NCAA MVP. Straub and his team captured the 2009 NCAA title as Husker Cassandra Leuthold earned Most Valuable Player honors for the tournament. He led the Huskers to the 2013 NCAA Championship, using a great all-around effort led by MVP Lizabeth Kuhlkin to defeat Vanderbilt 4.5 to 2.5.

Most recently, Straub guided the Huskers to 2015 NCAA championship that was played in front of an ESPN nationally televised audience. The Huskers defeated Stephen F. Austin 4-2 at Tropicana Lanes in St. Louis, behind strong efforts by Kuhlkin and Julia Bond.

In 2016, Straub led Nebraska to a national runner-up finish after reaching the NCAA championship match for a fourth-consecutive season. The Huskers were victorious in four of their 10 events in 2015-16. Bond earned first-team All-America honors, while Gazmine Mason garnered her second-straight third-team All-America award. Briana Zabierek was also an honorable mention NTCA All-American for the Big Red in the 2015-16 season.

In the 13 years that the NCAA has sponsored bowling, Nebraska is one of two programs to have qualified for the NCAA Championship in every season (Central Missouri).

Straub has coached seven bowlers who have been tabbed as the National Tenpin Coaches Association Collegiate Player of the Year, including Kim (Berke) Straub (1992), Diandra (Hyman) Asbaty (2000), Pluhowsky (2001, 2004, 2005), Lindsay Baker (2006), Burgoyne (2007), Leuthold (2010) and most recently Kuhlkin in 2015. Straub has also coached four bowlers to NTCA Rookie-of-the-Year honors, including Berke, Pluhowsky, Baker and Leuthold.

Along with winning ten national titles, Straub’s squads have not been ranked lower than seventh in the top 25 team rankings since becoming a varsity sport in 1997. 

Straub’s bowling history goes far beyond the University of Nebraska. A Lincoln native, Straub had an illustrious professional career, both locally and nationally. A member of the Nebraska Hall of Fame, Omaha Hall of Fame and the Lincoln Hall of Fame, Straub has gained more honors and titles than any other bowler from the state of Nebraska. His numerous local, state and national titles give proof that his success as a bowler and coach are mirrored by the success of his bowlers.

Straub graduated from Kensington University with a bachelor’s degree in business administration. He and his wife Kim, a former four-time All-American and National Player of the Year, have one daughter, current Husker bowler Meghan.