Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Suh Wins Rotary Lombardi Award

By NU Athletic Communications

The postseason award haul continues for Nebraska senior defensive tackle Ndamukong Suh. On Wednesday night, Suh won the 40th Rotary Lombardi Award at an awards banquet in downtown Houston. The Lombardi Award goes to the college football lineman -- offensive or defensive -- who in addition to displaying outstanding performance and ability, best exemplifies the character and discipline of Vince Lombardi.

Suh becomes the fifth Nebraska player to win the Lombardi Award, joining Rich Glover (1972), Dave Rimington (1982), Dean Steinkuhler (1983) and Grant Wistrom (1997). Nebraska's five Lombardi awards are the second-most by one school in the 40-year history of the award, trailing only Ohio State's six Lombardi Award winners.

Other finalists for the 2009 Rotary Lombardi Award included Alabama nose tackle Terrence Cody, TCU defensive end Jerry Hughes and Oklahoma defensive tackle Gerald McCoy. Among those in attendance at Wednesday night's banquet were Suh's parents, Michael and Bernadette, as well as Nebraska defensive coordinator Carl Pelini.

The presentation of the Rotary Lombardi Award to Suh also continues a run of success for defensive lineman under the direction of Nebraska Head Coach Bo Pelini. Two seasons ago, LSU defensive tackle Glenn Dorsey captured the Nagurski, Lombardi, Outland and Lott trophies while Pelini was the defensive coordinator with the Tigers, and it appears Suh could be in line for a similar award haul this season.

Suh has now captured a pair of major awards this week after winning the Bronko Nagurski Trophy on Monday night in Charlotte, N.C. On Thursday night, Suh is a finalist for three awards that will be presented at the ESPN College Football Awards Show (ESPN, 6 p.m. CT)-the Outland Trophy, the Bednarik Award and the Walter Camp Player of the Year Award.

Suh's week will be culminated with a trip to New York City as one of five finalists for the 75th Heisman Trophy.


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub