Prince Amukamara and Jared Crick were both named quarterfinalists for the Lott Trophy.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Two Huskers Named Quarterfinalists for Lott Trophy

By NU Athletic Communications

Senior cornerback Prince Amukamara and junior defensive tackle Jared Crick were two of the 23 defenders named quarterfinalists for the Lott Trophy, the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation announced on Wednesday.

Nebraska, Oklahoma and LSU were the only schools with more than one player selected to the list. Named after NFL Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, the Lott Trophy is presented annually to college football’s defensive IMPACT player of the year. The Lott Trophy is the only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Semifinalists for the award will be announced on Nov. 3 and four finalists will be announced on Nov. 24. The winner of the 2010 Lott Trophy will be announced in early December.

Amukamara, a native of Phoenix, Ariz., is widely regarded as one of the nation’s top cornerbacks. One of five defensive backs among the quarterfinalists, Amukamara leads Nebraska with seven pass breakups this season, while totaling 24 tackles, including 10 solo stops. He has helped Nebraska lead the nation in passing defense and pass efficiency defense.

A native of Cozad, Neb., Crick was one of 10 defensive linemen on the list of quarterfinalists. From his defensive tackle position, Crick ranks fifth on the team with 27 tackles. He is also tied the team lead with five tackles-for-loss, while ranking second with 2.5 sacks and five quarterback hurries

Lott IMPACT Trophy Quarterfinalists
Sam Acho, DL, Texas
Prince Amukamara, CB, Nebraska
Akeen Ayers, LB, UCLA
Allen Bailey, DE, Miami
Mark Barron, S, Alabama
Jeremy Beal, DE, Oklahoma
Quinton Carter, DB, Oklahoma
Jared Crick, DL, Nebraska
Lawrence Guy, DT, Arizona State
Mark Herzlich, LB, Boston College
Cameron Heyward, DT, Ohio State
Ross Homan, LB, Ohio State
Jeron Johnson, S, Boise State
Greg Jones, LB, Michigan State
Ryan Kerrigan, DL, Purdue
Casey Matthews, LB, Oregon
Josh McNary, DE, Army
Dontay Moch, DE, Nevada
Mike Mohamed, LB, Cal
Patrick Peterson, CB, LSU
Kelvin Sheppard, LB, LSU
JJ Watt, DE, Wisconsin
Alex Wujciak, LB, Maryland


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub