Marcel Jones is a three-time member of the Brook Berringer Citizenship Team.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

22 Players Named to 2011 Berringer Citizenship Team

By NU Athletic Communications
The Nebraska Athletic Department has announced that 22 members of the 2010 Husker football team have been named to the 14th annual Brook Berringer Citizenship Team. The student-athletes will be honored on the field before kickoff of Saturday's Red-White Spring Game at Memorial Stadium.

The Brook Berringer Citizenship Team was established by the Husker football program in honor of former Nebraska quarterback Brook Berringer, who died in a plane crash in April of 1996. Berringer was a member of NU's back-to-back national championship teams in 1994 and 1995.

Berringer was also one of the most dedicated Husker volunteers in the community with youth, both in Nebraska and in his hometown of Goodland, Kan. The team honors players who display a similar love and dedication for volunteering in the community through Nebraska's nationally recognized Life Skills program.

This year's Berringer Citizenship Team is comprised of two 2010 seniors, and 20 student-athletes who are members of the 2011 Nebraska team. The group is headlined by four players who have been named to the team for a third time, including 2010 senior place-kicker Alex Henery, senior offensive tackle Marcel Jones, senior cornerback Marcus Mendoza and senior defensive back Lance Thorell.

Five other players were named to the Berringer team for a second straight year, including junior I-back Rex Burkhead, junior tight end Ben Cotton, senior defensive tackle Jared Crick, junior quarterback Cody Green, and 2010 senior linebacker Thomas Grove.

Thirteen additional players are being honored for the first time in their careers. The group includes center Mike Caputo, quarterback Brion Carnes, safety Austin Cassidy, linebacker Jim Ebke, receiver Tyler Evans, fullback Tyler Legate, linebacker Mathew May, fullback Colin McDermott, safety Courtney Osborne, receiver Steven Osborne, defensive end Kevin Thomsen, defensive end Donovan Vestal and fullback C.J. Zimmerer.

The football team has continued to be among Nebraska's most active teams in the local community. The squad has been a finalist for the Life Skills Team Award each of the past six seasons.

Athletic Director Tom Osborne will make the presentation to the Berringer team recipients, along with Brook's mother, Jan, and additional members of the Berringer family.

In addition to the Berringer Team, 2010 senior defensive end Tyrone Fahie will be honored on Saturday as the recipient of the fifth annual Cletus Fischer Endowed Scholarship. The scholarship is presented annually to a Nebraska football player who has demonstrated a high level of athletic and academic achievement and intends to pursue a career as a high school or college coach.

2011 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team (years on team)

  • Rex Burkhead (2010, 2011)
  • Mike Caputo (2011)
  • Brion Carnes (2011)
  • Austin Cassidy (2011)
  • Ben Cotton (2010, 2011)
  • Jared Crick (2010, 2011)
  • Jim Ebke (2011)
  • Tyler Evans (2011)
  • Cody Green (2010, 2011)
  • Thomas Grove (2010, 2011)
  • Alex Henery (2009, 2010, 2011)
  • Marcel Jones (2009, 2010, 2011)
  • Tyler Legate (2011)
  • Mathew May (2011)
  • Colin McDermott (2011)
  • Marcus Mendoza (2009, 2010, 2011)
  • Courtney Osborne (2011)
  • Steven Osborne (2011)
  • Kevin Thomsen (2011)
  • Lance Thorell (2009, 2010, 2011)
  • Donovan Vestal (2011)
  • C.J. Zimmerer (2011)


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub