Jared Crick had 70 tackles, including 9.5 sacks last season.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Crick Named to Preseason All-America Team

By NU Athletic Communications

Nebraska defensive tackle Jared Crick was named to the 2011 Playboy Preseason All-America team this week. The 6-foot-6, 285-pounder from Cozad earned a spot on the prestigious team following a dominant junior campaign for the Huskers.

In 2010, Crick anchored a Husker defense which ranked in the top 12 nationally in scoring defense, total defense and pass defense. He totaled 70 tackles, including 36 solo stops, and had 9.5 sacks and 17 tackles for loss to rank second in the Big 12. A two-time, first-team all-conference pick, Crick enters his senior year with 145 career tackles, including 32 tackles-for-loss. His 19 career sacks put him in seventh place on Nebraska's career sacks list.

It is the third straight year that a Nebraska player has been tabbed for the honor, and Crick's appearance is the 37th by a Husker on the Playboy Preseason All-America team since the publication began selecting a team in 1957. A complete list of all-time players is listed below.

Year         Honoree
1966        LaVerne Allers
1970        Jerry Murtaugh
1972        Rich Glover, Willie Harper, Johnny Rodgers, Bob Devaney, Coach
1973        John Dutton, Daryl White
1974        Rik Bonness, Marvin Crenshaw
1975        Wonder Monds, Rik Bonness
1976        Mike Fultz, Tom Osborne, Coach
1976        Bob Lingenfelter
1980        Jarvis Redwine
1982        Dave Rimington
1983        Irving Fryar, Mike Rozier
1986        Doug DuBose
1987        Broderick Thomas
1988        Broderick Thomas
1989        Jake Young
1990        Reggie Cooper
1992        Will Shields
1993        Calvin Jones
1994        Rob Zatechka, Anson Mount Scholar/Athlete
1995        Tommie Frazier
1996        Jared Tomich, Aaron Taylor
1997        Grant Wistrom, Aaron Taylor
1999        Ralph Brown
2000        Carlos Polk
2004        Josh Bullocks
2006        Adam Carriker
2009        Ndamukong Suh
2010        Prince Amukamara
2011        Jared Crick


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub