Lavonte David and Rex Burkhead shared team MVP honors.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Burkhead, David Lead Award Winners at Banquet

By NU Athletic Communications
Senior linebacker Lavonte David and junior I-back Rex Burkhead topped the list of honorees as the Nebraska football team gathered for its 2011 team banquet on Friday evening. The event was held at the Cornhusker Marriott with nearly 500 people in attendance.

Burkhead and David were two of three players elected by their teammates as 2011 season captains. They were joined by junior kicker/punter Brett Maher who represented the special teams.

Burkhead and David shared two other prestigious honors on Friday evening, being named co-winners of the Team MVP award, and co-Lifters of the Year. It marked the second straight Lifter of the Year Award for Burkhead, the first player to win the award in consecutive years since Kyle Vanden Bosch in 1999 and 2000. Burkhead was a first-team All-Big Ten running back in 2011 after rushing for 1,268 yards and scoring 17 touchdowns.

In addition to his MVP and captain honors, David was named the winner of the Guy Chamberlin Trophy, an award that is voted on by members of the media that dates back to 1967. David led Nebraska with 122 tackles and earned first-team All-America honors during his senior season.

Maher also picked up Special Teams MVP honors for his breakout season. Maher ranks 10th nationally in punting average, while checking in at No. 11 in field goals made per game.

With David and Burkhead sharing the overall team MVP honors, quarterback Taylor Martinez was presented Offensive MVP honors, while cornerback Alfonzo Dennard received the Defensive MVP award.

Senior defensive tackle Jared Crick, a native of Cozad, Neb., earned the Cletus Fischer Native Son Award, which is given annually to a Husker senior who is a native Nebraskan. Senior defensive tackle Terrence Moore and senior center Mike Caputo were co-winners of the Tom Novak Trophy, which is determined by a media vote. The award is the oldest senior award, dating back to 1950. The Chamberlin, Novak and Native Son award winners will also be honored at the Outland Trophy banquet in Omaha on Jan. 12.

Several other awards were presented at Friday evening's banquet. Nebraska continues preparations for the Capital One Bowl against South Carolina with practices in Lincoln on Sunday, Monday and Tuesday before a Christmas break. The Huskers head for Orlando on Monday, Dec. 26. A victory in the Capital One Bowl would give Nebraska 10 wins for a third straight season.

Award Winners
Captains - Offense: Rex Burkhead, Defense: Lavonte David, Special Teams: Brett Maher
Team MVP - Rex Burkhead, Lavonte David
Special Teams MVP - Brett Maher
Offensive MVP - Taylor Martinez
Defensive MVP - Alfonzo Dennard
Chamberlin Trophy- Lavonte David
Novak Trophy - Mike Caputo and Terrence Moore
Fischer Native Son Award - Jared Crick
Bobby Reynolds Award - Lance Thorell
Lifter of the Year Award - Rex Burkhead & Lavonte David
Walk-On of the Year - Spencer Long
Off. Scout Team Player of the Year - Bronson Marsh
Def. Scout Team Player of the Year - Wil Richards
Character Award - Terrence Moore, Rex Burkhead, Curenski Gilleylen
Pat Clare Award - Marcel Jones
Husker Heart AwardLuke Lingenfelter
Burnell Student Manager Scholarship - Tanner Dunbar


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub