Taylor Martinez was named to the Maxwell Award Watch List this morning.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Abdullah, Martinez Named to Maxwell Watch List

By NU Athletic Communications

Nebraska senior quarterback Taylor Martinez and junior I-back Ameer Abdullah have been named to the watch list for the Maxwell Award as announced on Monday morning.

Martinez and Abdullah are among eight Big Ten players on the watch list and Nebraska is one of 17 schools with two or more players named to the Maxwell Award watch list.

The Maxwell Award, named in honor of Robert W. "Tiny" Maxwell, has been given to America's College Player of the Year since 1937. Maxwell’s contributions to the game of football were extensive, including as a player, a sportswriter and an official.

The 6-1, 210-pound Martinez has already shattered several Nebraska records in his first three seasons as Nebraska’s starting quarterback. Martinez has established NU records for career and season total offense, career passing yards and ranks second among quarterbacks in career rushing yards. Martinez’s 39 career starts are the second-most of any returning player in the country, and his 2,858 career rushing yards are the most among active FBS players. Martinez was a first-team All-Big Ten pick by the Big Ten Coaches in 2012.

Abdullah teamed with Martinez in 2012 to give Nebraska pair of 1,000-yard rushers. Abdullah rushed for 1,137 yards and eight touchdowns as a sophomore and helped Nebraska lead the Big Ten and rank eighth nationally in rushing offense. Abdullah also posted the sixth-best single-season all-purpose yardage total in NU history with 1,884 yards. Abdullah was a second-team All-Big Ten choice in 2012.

Semifinalists for the Maxwell Award will be announced Oct. 29, while the three finalists for the award will be unveiled Nov. 18. The winner of the 2013 Maxwell Award will be announced as part of the Home Depot ESPNU College Football Awards Show held on Dec. 12. The formal presentations of these awards will be made at the Maxwell Football Club Awards Gala hosted by Harrah's Entertainment Atlantic City on March 7, 2014.

The watch list candidates have been chosen by the Maxwell Football Club's selection committee, which analyzes both past performance and future potential. The Club reserves the right to make additions and deletions to these lists as the 2013 season unfolds. All members of the Maxwell Football Club, NCAA sports information directors, FBS head coaches and selected national media are eligible to vote for the awards.

The Maxwell Award is the first in a series of awards that will announce their watch lists over the next two weeks. The schedule for watch list announcements is as follows:

7-9: Mackey Award (tight end); Rimington Trophy (center)
7-10: Lou Groza Award (place-kicker); Ray Guy Award (punter)
7-11: Bronko Nagurski Trophy (defensive player): Outland Trophy (interior lineman)
7-12: Jim Thorpe Award (defensive back)
7-15: Butkus Award (linebacker); Lombardi Award (lineman of the year)
7-16: Biletnikoff Award (receiver)
7-17: Davey O’Brien Award (quarterback)
7-18: Doak Walker Award (running back)
7-19: Walter Camp Award (most outstanding player)


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub