Taylor Martinez is the top returning rusher at the FBS level this season.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Martinez, Abdullah on Walter Camp List

By NU Athletic Communications

Lincoln - Nebraska senior quarterback Taylor Martinez and junior I-back Ameer Abdullah have been named to the watch list for the Walter Camp Player of the Year award on Friday.

Martinez and Abdullah are among six Big Ten players on the 50-player list for one of college football’s oldest awards, while Nebraska is one of 11 schools with multiple players on the watch list.

The 6-1, 210-pound Martinez has already shattered several Nebraska records in his first three seasons as Nebraska’s starting quarterback. Martinez has established NU records for career and season total offense, career passing yards and he ranks second among quarterbacks in career rushing yards. Martinez’s 39 career starts are the second-most of any returning player in the country, and his 2,858 career rushing yards are the most among active FBS players. Martinez was a first-team All-Big Ten pick by the Big Ten coaches in 2012.

Abdullah teamed with Martinez in 2012 to give Nebraska pair of 1,000-yard rushers. Abdullah rushed for 1,137 yards and eight touchdowns as a sophomore and helped Nebraska lead the Big Ten and rank eighth nationally in rushing offense. Abdullah also posted the sixth-best single-season all-purpose yardage total in NU history with 1,884 yards. Abdullah was a second-team All-Big Ten choice in 2012. Together, Martinez and Abdullah team up to give Nebraska a pair of 1,000-yard rushers for the first time in school history.

Semifinalists for the Walter Camp Player of the Year award will be announced in mid-November. The 2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year recipient, which is voted on by the 125 FBS head coaches and sports information directors, will be announced live on ESPN SportsCenter on Thursday, December 12.  The winner will then receive his trophy at the Foundation’s annual national awards banquet on January 11, 2014 at the Yale University Commons in New Haven.

2013 Walter Camp Player of the Year “Watch List”

Ameer Abdullah, RB, Nebraska

Antonio Andrews, RB, Western Kentucky

Dri Archer, RB, Kent State

Tajh Boyd, QB, Clemson

Teddy Bridgewater, QB, Louisville

Kolton Browning, QB, Louisiana Monroe

Anthony Barr, LB, UCLA

Ka’Deem Carey, RB, Arizona *

Derek Carr, QB, Fresno State

Rakeem Cato, QB, Marshall

Jadeveon Clowney, DE, South Carolina *

Amari Cooper, WR, Alabama

David Fluellen, RB, Toledo

Phillip Gaines, DB, Rice

Todd Gurley, RB, Georgia

John Hubert, RB, Kansas State

Jackson Jeffcoat, DE, Texas

Duke Johnson, RB, Miami Fla. #

Chuckie Keeton, QB, Utah State

Marqise Lee, WR, USC *

Taylor Lewan, OT, Michigan *

Jordan Lynch, QB, Northern Illinois

Johnny Manziel, QB, Texas A&M *

Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon

Jake Matthews, OT, Texas A&M #

Jordan Matthews, WR, Vanderbilt

Venric Mark, RB, Northwestern

Taylor Martinez, QB, Nebraska

AJ McCarron, QB, Alabama

Braxton Miller, QB, Ohio State

C.J. Mosley, LB, Alabama *

Aaron Murray, QB, Georgia

Louis Nix III, DE, Notre Dame

Casey Pachall, QB, TCU

Keith Price, QB, Washington

Silas Redd, RB, USC

Bradley Roby, DB, Ohio State #

Tyler Russell, QB, Mississippi State

Bishop Sankey, RB, Washington

Lache Seastrunk, RB, Baylor

Yawin Smallwood, LB, Connecticut

Will Sutton, DT, Arizona State #

Tyler Tettleton, QB, Ohio

De’Anthony Thomas, RB, Oregon

Logan Thomas, QB, Virginia Tech

Stephon Tuitt, DE, Notre Dame #

Kyle Van Noy, LB, BYU

Jason Verrett, DB, TCU #

Sammy Watkins, WR, Clemson

T.J. Yeldon, RB, Alabama

* 2012 Walter Camp First Team All-American # - 2012 Walter Camp Second Team All-American


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub