A total of 76 Huskers were named to the 2019 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team.
Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Huskers Honored for Academics, Community Involvement

By NU Athletic Communications

Jerald Foster and Mick Stoltenberg were honored for their career achievements on Wednesday, as both players were recognized as members of the 2019 National Football Foundation & College Hall of Fame (NFF) Hampshire Honor Society. The duo were also among a group of 76 Huskers named to the 2019 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team.


The NFF Hampshire Honor Society is comprised of college football players from all divisions of play who maintained a cumulative 3.2 grade-point average or better throughout their collegiate careers. To be considered, a student-athlete must have completed their final year of playing eligibility in 2018 and have been a starter or significant contributor during the 2018 season.


Both Nebraska natives, Foster and Stoltenberg anchored the Husker offensive and defensive lines, respectively, during their Husker careers. Foster started 28 games in his career, including every game of his junior and senior season at left guard. A two-time team captain, Foster was an honorable-mention All-Big Ten selection in 2017 and was the Nebraska Offensive Lineman of the Year in 2018. Foster was a three-time academic All-Big Ten honoree and a five-time member of both the Brook Berringer and Tom Osborne Citizenship teams. The Lincoln native was also a 2018 Senior CLASS Award Nominee and an Arthur Ashe Jr. Sports Scholar Award recipient.


A Gretna native, Stoltenberg battled injuries throughout his career to start 25 games. He recorded 69 tackles and 3.5 sacks during his Husker career. Last fall, Stoltenberg was a semifinalist for the prestigious William V. Campbell Trophy, which is presented annually to the nation’s best football scholar-athlete. A 2017 academic all-district honoree, Stoltenberg was a three-time academic All-Big Ten selection and a 2018 Big Ten Distinguished Scholar. He was also an active member of the community, earning three appointments to both the Brook Berringer and Tom Osborne Citizenship teams.


Both players were also among the 76 Huskers named to the 22nd annual Brook Berringer Citizenship team. Thirty-five Huskers were repeat selections to the Berringer Citizenship team while 41 players earned a spot on the team for the first time.


2019 Brook Berringer Citizenship Team


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub