Huskers Repeat as National Champions

By NU Athletic Communications
The Nebraska bowling team won its second straight NCAA title on Saturday in Orlando.
The Nebraska bowling team won its second straight NCAA title on Saturday in Orlando.
Photo by None

Orlando, Fla. The University of Nebraska bowling team was crowned the 2005 NCAA national champion on Saturday at Wekiva Lanes in Orlando.  The Huskers earned their second title in as many years to become the only team to win a championship since bowling was elevated to an NCAA championship sport in April of 2003.


NU (69-8) defeated Central Missouri State (89-21) in the championship match by winning four of six games against CMS in the Baker format (220-210, 247-266, 148-192, 205-190, 190-172, 235-184).  The final round was a repeat of the 2004 national championship, when the Huskers defeated CMS in a roll-off to earn the inaugural NCAA championship.


“This win feels great,” said head coach Bill Straub.  “Psychologically, we knew we could do it, and we were fortunate enough through the entire tournament to exceed our expectations.”


Nebraska dominated the tournament, defeating Fayetteville State, Sacred Heart, Fairleigh Dickinson and CMS en route to claiming the championship with a perfect 4-0 record at the tournament.


Sophomore Amanda Burgoyne (Newport, Minn.) was named tournament MVP with a career-high average of 251 through four games of the qualifying rounds.  Freshman Lindsay Baker (Amherst, N.Y.) was also named to the all-tournament team averaging a career-high 234.  Even though senior Shannon Pluhowsky was not named to the all-tournament team, she becomes the only female bowler to ever win three collegiate championships, according to Straub.


The Huskers have now won seven national championships under Coach Straub.  NU won five Intercollegiate Bowling Championship titles from 1991-2003 before claiming the first two NCAA Championships.


Today’s championship match can be seen tomorrow, April 17th on ESPN2 at 4:30 p.m. (CDT.)


Nebraska’s Path to the Title

Round 1: NU def. Fayetteville State, 4-0

Round 2: NU def. Sacred Heart, 4-1

Round 3: NU def. Fairleigh Dickinson, 4-3-1

Round 4: NU def. Central Missouri State, 4-2


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub