Huskers Celebrate 2016-17 Season at Banquet
Several Huskers were honored at the postseason banquet.
Photo Courtesy Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications
Courtesy: NU Athletic Communications
Print RSS

The Nebraska wrestling team held its annual postseason banquet at Memorial Stadium on Friday, April 7. Several Huskers took home individual awards, while the entire team was honored for its accomplishments during the 2016-17 campaign.

For the second consecutive year, TJ Dudley (184) took home Nebraska’s Most Outstanding Wrestler Award following his third-place finish at the NCAA Championships. The three-time All-American went 33-5 during his senior season, which included a team-leading 11 technical falls.

All-American Tyler Berger (157) was named Most Improved Wrestler after his fifth-place performance at the NCAA Championships. The sophomore led all Huskers with 36 wins, and made the All-America podium for the first time in his career.

Eric Schultz captured Redshirt-of-the-Year honors after a 27-3 record at 197 pounds. He placed in the top-three at all six of his open tournament appearances, including three titles.

Senior All-American Aaron Studebaker (197) won Lifter of the Year. Studebaker compiled a 33-10 mark en route to a fifth-place finish at the NCAA Championships. He led the team with 12 major decisions.

Following the team awards presentation, the eight seniors spoke about their careers at Nebraska. The banquet ended with Head Coach Mark Manning looking ahead to the 2017-18 season.

2016-17 Nebraska Wrestling Award Winners
Most Outstanding Wrestler: TJ Dudley (184)
Most Improved Wrestler: Tyler Berger (157)
Redshirt of the Year: Eric Schultz (197)
Lifter of the Year: Aaron Studebaker (197)

JV Team 300x250

Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad