Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Husker Wrestlers Announce Challenging 2018-19 Schedule

By NU Athletic Communications

The Nebraska wrestling team will face a challenging schedule that features 13 of the top-25 team finishers from last year’s NCAA Championships, Nebraska Coach Mark Manning announced on Tuesday.

 

The Huskers will host their annual Coaches Clinic/Wrestle-Offs on Friday, Nov. 2, before opening the season two days later at the Daktronics Open in Brookings, S.D., on Sunday, Nov. 4.

Nebraska will partake in the Northeast Duals on Saturday, Nov. 10, in Albany, N.Y. NU will compete with Utah Valley, Virginia and Drexel in New York. The Huskers return to Lincoln to begin Big Ten action in their home opener against Wisconsin on Friday, Nov. 16. The opener with the Badgers is set for a 7 p.m. start at the Bob Devaney Sports Center.

The Huskers head to Laramie to battle Wyoming on Sunday, Nov. 18 at 2 p.m. The Cowboys tied for 17th at the 2018 NCAA Championships.

After the Huskers compete at the Cliff Keen Las Vegas Collegiate Wrestling Invitational in Las Vegas, Nev., Nov. 30-Dec. 1, they finish the 2018 calendar year with a pair of road duals. Nebraska will face North Carolina in Chapel Hill on Dec. 15, before clashing with N.C. State in Raleigh on Dec. 16. Both the Tar Heels and the Wolfpack placed in the top 20 at the 2018 NCAA Championships.

Nebraska returns to Big Ten dual action after the holidays by battling Northwestern at the Devaney Center on Sunday, Jan. 6, at 2 p.m. The Huskers stay home to collide with Northern Iowa at the Devaney Center on Saturday, Jan. 12, as part of the Tumble N’ Rumble with the Nebraska women’s gymnastics program. The Panthers finished in the top 25 at the 2018 NCAA Championships.

Following the dual with UNI, the Huskers compete in seven consecutive duals against Big Ten foes, beginning with a trip to Maryland on Friday, Jan. 18. Two days later, the Big Red battle defending national champion Penn State in University Park. The Nittany Lions have won seven of the past eight NCAA titles.

One week later, the Huskers return home to the Devaney Center to take on Illinois on Sunday, Jan. 27 at 2 p.m.

Nebraska returns to the East Coast to face Rutgers in Piscataway, N.J., on Friday, Feb. 1, before sprinting back home to the Devaney Center to play host to Iowa on Sunday, Feb. 3 at noon. The Huskers stay home to meet Minnesota at the Devaney Center on Friday, Feb. 8 at 7 p.m., before closing out Big Ten regular-season dual action at Ohio State on Sunday, Feb. 17. The Buckeyes have finished as the NCAA runner-up three straight seasons since winning the national title in 2015.

The Huskers close the regular season at home against Stanford on Saturday, Feb. 23 at 7 p.m. Nebraska will celebrate Senior Day at the Devaney Center against the Cardinal.

The Big Ten Championships are scheduled for March 9-10 in Minneapolis, and the NCAA Championships are set for March 21-23 in Pittsburgh, Pa.

Season and single-match tickets for the 2018-19 season will go on sale in October.

2018-19 Nebraska Wrestling Schedule (all times central)

Friday, Nov. 2: Coaches Clinic/Wrestle-Offs – 6 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 4: Daktronics Open – 9 a.m.

Saturday, Nov. 10: Northeast Duals (Utah Valley, Virginia, Drexel) – TBA

Friday, Nov. 16: Wisconsin – 7 p.m.

Sunday, Nov. 18: at Wyoming – 2 p.m.

Friday, Nov. 30-Saturday, Dec. 1: Cliff Keen Las Vegas Collegiate Wrestling Invitational – 9 a.m.

Saturday, Dec. 15: at North Carolina – 6:30 p.m.

Sunday, Dec. 16: at N.C. State – TBA

Sunday, Jan. 6: Northwestern – 2 p.m.

Saturday, Jan. 12: Northern Iowa (Tumble N’ Rumble) – TBA

Friday, Jan. 18: at Maryland – TBA

Sunday, Jan. 20: at Penn State – TBA

Sunday, Jan. 27: Illinois – 2 p.m.

Friday, Feb. 1: at Rutgers – TBA

Sunday, Feb. 3: Iowa – Noon

Friday, Feb. 8: Minnesota – 7 p.m.

Sunday, Feb. 17: at Ohio State – TBA

Saturday, Feb. 23: Stanford – 7 p.m.

Saturday, March 9 – Sunday, March 10: Big Ten Championships – TBA

Thursday, March 21 – Saturday, March 23: NCAA Championships – TBA

MORE NEWS

More News Sponsor - First National Bank

TICKETS

Tickets Sponsor - StubHub