Photo by Scott Bruhn/Nebraska Communications

Retiring Jerseys Ceremony Moved Eight Husker Families

By NU Athletic Communications

By Randy York

Last Saturday's University of Nebraska Athletics retired jersey ceremony was a golden moment for eight families who have waited patiently to see their legendary Scarlet and Cream fathers, grandfathers, great grandfathers and even great great grandfathers permanently etched into Memorial Stadium's dramatic facade.

Nebraska Director of Athletics Shawn Eichorst and UNL Chancellor Ronnie Green were on Tom Osborne Field to salute magical moments for all eight families, each of whom was visibly moved to be on the historic stadium's sidelines.

The season opener reinforced why The Sporting News called Memorial Stadium "A Cathedral of College Football" and why the College Sports Network called the home of the Huskers "The No. 1 Stadium in College Football." described Memorial Stadium as "an imposing stadium that dominates Lincoln. Few places are more intimidating for visiting teams to enter. The small touches and exterior are carefully constructed in a classy way and the sellout streak dating back to 1962 adds to the venue's lore."

Mike Riley: Memorial Stadium 'The Best Picture of College Football There Is'

Small wonder why Nebraska Head Coach Mike Riley calls Memorial Stadium "the best picture of college football there is. There's nothing like it."

The eight players with their names now etched into the stadium only enhance Memorial Stadium's legacy. Nebraska Athletics appreciates each family that showed up to honor a relative whose lineage laid the groundwork and set the stage for Nebraska to reach incredible milestones that include five national championships, an NCAA record 46 conference championships, another NCAA record 355 consecutive sellouts (and counting), 53 all-time bowl appearances (second in NCAA history) and three Heisman Trophy winners.

All eight honored players are in the College Football Hall of Fame, and all are recognized below with family members celebrating the opportunity to set foot on Nebraska's storied turf. 

Ed Weir: Nebraska’s first College Football Hall of Fame member (1951)

Guy Chamberlin: Pro Football & College Football Hall of Fame (1962) Inductee

George Sauer: 1971 College Football Hall of Fame Inductee

Clarence Swanson: 1973 College Football Hall of Fame Inductee

Bobby Reynolds: 1984 College Football Hall of Fame Inductee

Forrest Behm: 1988 College Football Hall of Fame Inductee

Wayne Meylan: 1991 College Football Hall of Fame Inductee

Sam Francis: 1977 College Football Hall of Fame Inductee

Send a comment to (Please include city, state)

Follow Randy on Twitter at

N-Sider Archives


More News Sponsor - First National Bank


Tickets Sponsor - StubHub