spacer   My Account for spacer
Lincoln, Neb. - The Big Ten Conference announced on Wednesday that 65 Nebraska student-athletes were selected as recipients of the Big Ten Distinguished Scholar Award. The list includes 587 Big Ten student-athletes from every institution and 36 different sports who have earned a minimum grade-point average of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year.

Coach Gary Pepin's track and field squad led all Nebraska selections with 16 student-athletes on the list. The Nebraska football team added six student-athletes, while the women's soccer and cross country teams each had five student-athletes awarded.

In February of 2008, Big Ten Faculty Representatives established a conference academic recognition to supplement the Academic All-Big Ten program. Similar to the Academic All-Big Ten honor, Distinguished Scholar Award recipients must be letterwinners in at least their second academic year at their institution. However, the Distinguished Scholar Award encompasses only student-athletes with a minimum GPA of 3.7 or higher for the previous academic year, excluding summer school. The Academic All-Big Ten threshold is a cumulative GPA of 3.0 or higher for a student-athlete's academic career.

Returning Customers
HuskersNside users or returning customers, please login here.
Login/eMail Address


Forgot your Login?
New Customer
Set up a New Customer account for quick and easy online shopping and/or camp & event registration.

With your account you can easily track and manage your orders, update your information and more.
Baseball Season Tickets
Softball Season Tickets
Ticket Request List 300x250
BSB Diamond Deal
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad
Uploaded Ad